2021-2022 Awards and Recognition

About Awards and Recognition 

Visit Awards and Recognition Criteria for a list of the possible awards and the criteria used in judging.

2021-2022 Awards Ceremony

Officer Logan Barrow was named the department’s Employee of the Year for 2021.  Senior Administrative Assistant Robin Newberry was honored with the department’s Gary L. Reese Award.
Barrow has been an officer with the Paducah Police Department just three years.  But in 2020 and 2021, he had the most DUI arrests in the department and received the Governor’s Safety Award for Impaired Driving.  He made 200 criminal arrests in 2021, 97 of those being felony drug arrests.  He seized various drugs, including fentanyl, cocaine, heroin and methamphetamine, recovered six stolen vehicles, multiple registration plates and other items.  He made 63 warrant arrests, and 573 traffic stops while working on Interstate 24 with the department’s traffic safety grant. 
Newberry, the chief’s administrative assistant, is the department’s longest serving employee, joining the department almost 25 years ago.  The award she received is named for retired Assistant Chief Gary L. Reese, and is designed to acknowledge an employee for outstanding leadership and distinguished career service.  Chief of Police Brian Laird presented the award, noting that Newberry has worked for seven different police chiefs and numerous assistant chiefs, and has been a part of hiring nearly 200 police officers.  He said Newberry’s extensive knowledge of the department’s budget is vital, and mentioned her work in managing the department’s media relations, and in organizing various department functions. 
James “Darren” Sparks and Scott Kirkpatrick were given Citizen Service Awards for their assistance on March 26, 2021.  A vehicle had broken down on Alben Barkley Drive, and the men risked their own safety to move the vehicle from traffic, likely preventing a collision and possible injury to drivers. 
Officers William Hendrickson and Jennifer Szyszkiewicz received Lifesaving Awards for administering Narcan to two people suffering from drug overdoses in separate incidents in 2021.  Those people likely would have died had it not been for the officers’ actions. 
Other awards presented: 

• Senior Administrative Assistant Mary Farrell was honored for her work on the 911 Communication Services Division’s website.

• Sgt. Jordan Murphy and Officers James Robbins, Andrew J. Parrish, Zane White, Eric Abbott and Cassandra Ravens received 5-Year Safe Driving Awards.

• Officer Logan Barrow, Tyler Bradley and Tyson Riley received Service Commendations for their work in capturing a burglar on June 8, 2021.

• Officers Dylan Cook, Matthew Strohmeier, Ryan Euteneier and Andrew J. Parrish received Service Commendations for their persistence in a case involving a neglected, disabled young man.

• Officer Dana Davie received a Service Commendation for her work involving an elderly man from Wisconsin, located lost and confused at a Paducah motel.

• Officer James Robbins received a Service Commendation for his personal concern and follow-up with an elderly man involved in a traffic collision.

• Sgt. Travis Watson and Officers James Robbins received Service Commendations for their work on a November homicide investigation.

• Records Clerks Vicki Miller and Sabrina Miller and Evidence Technicians Amanda Fooshee and Meridith Barkley received Service Commendations for their work with the Kentucky first lady’s Western Kentucky Christmas Toy Drive for children affected by the Dec. 10 tornado.

• Telecommunicators Hillary Fowler, Tara Martin, Austin Scutt and Bryce Mansfield received Service Commendations for their work at the 911 Emergency Communication Division the night of the Dec. 10 tornado.

• Senior Records Clerk Kim Newlon received a Service Commendation for her work with the city’s new Tyler Technologies payroll system.

• Det. Nathan Jaimet received a Chief’s Award for his expertise in interviewing suspects, particularly in an infant abuse case and two homicide cases.

• Officer Tyson Riley received a Chief’s Award for the experience and dedication he brings to the Operations Division’s third shift and the work he performed there last year.

• Detectives Chelsee Breakfield and Ryan Hudson received Chief’s Awards for stepping up and filling in vacancies created by promotions, training and injuries.  They worked 112 cases between them, compared to 132 cases assigned to the other seven investigators throughout the year.

• Officer James Robbins received a Chief’s Award for his dedication to the department and the community over a 17-year career.  He has been a mentor and Police Training Officer for many who now are in supervisory positions.